Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 31

    Road to Lake Tekapo

    December 31, 2019 in New Zealand ⋅ ☀️ 25 °C

    Around 1 pm I left Timaru and went to Lake Tekapo.
    The first part of the drive was through farmland but then I started to the mountains. As I was cooking closer to Lake Tekapo the more beautiful the scenery got 😍

    The snow-covered mountains in the background were coming closer and closer.
    And then I found a big field full of Lupin flowers in possible colors 😍
    Sooo beautiful!!
    And the smell was amazing as well, so bad you can’t smell the pictures!

    I then went to the campground beside Lake Tekapo but unfortunately, they were totally booked out 😳
    That never happens to me so far.

    I then drove to the I-Side and the friendly lady there showed me three other campgrounds around Lake Tekapo, low budget campgrounds, but I don’t mind that!

    I decided then to go there straight away and don’t go sightseeing around Lake Tekapo first. I want to be sure, I find a place to stay for the night.

    So I found probably the most beautiful campground in the area. Directly beside Lake Mcgregor, the small neighbor to Lake Tekapo. Here was still some space free and it’s working over an honesty box, so you pay and park where you want.
    I decided then not to go back to the city as I don’t want to lose my spot on the campground.
    The weather got really, really beautiful now and it’s also really nice and warm here! A lady told me, that I can walk through the camp and then pass through a little creek and then up a hill and from there I will have a beautiful view over the mountains and the three lakes around, Lake Mcgregor, Lake Tekapo, and Lake Alexandrina.

    So I did the walk and the view was really amazing! I am so glad, that I was ending up here!

    After the walk, I went for a swim in the Lake. They said it’s really nice and warm, 19 degrees. 🙈

    Well, it was indeed really nice but a bit hard to get into the water in the beginning. 😂
    But when I was inside I didn’t want to come out again! The water is so clear that I could see the ground all the time!! Really amazing!!

    After that, I relaxed a while in the sun until I was dry and then it was already time to think about my dinner 😊

    It was a really lovely evening and I was sitting outside really long, watching the sun goes down and then looking at the stars. Here you can see the really good 😊
    At 0 o’clock everyone at the campground was screaming “Happy New Year” and we mostly watched up into the stars as there was no firework around us, what I must say I really liked that! After that, I went to bed. Could not find a better spot for New Year’s Eve 😊💥
    Read more