Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 34

    Hooker Valley Track II

    January 3, 2020 in New Zealand ⋅ ☀️ 6 °C

    It takes only 20 minutes from the Glentanner Campground to the Hooker Valley Track carpark.

    When I came there it was still a lot of places left, but I was surprised, how many cars were already there. I started to walk shortly before 7 am and I can say I was surprised how easy this walk was. The track is really good and perfect for all kinds of people to walk.
    It's only a few steps here and there and really nothing to be worried about or to even get really warm 😉
    That was, in fact, a little bit bad, as it was really cold there and I was so glad, that I took with my jacket form the car!
    The wind is really, really cold. It's just a little bit windy, not bad at all but I was happy about my jacket!
    The view is amazing! And in the first part of the track, you can't see Mount Cook, but when you come around a turn, you can finally see him!
    The first Lake I passed was Mueller Lake. I was expecting the same ice blue color like Lake Pukaki and Lake Tekapo and was surprised to see, that the water is more grey/brown.

    It’s so nice to be here so early, there are only a few people here now and you can really nice avoid them to get a really good picture!
    Read more