Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 35

    Road to Danseys Pass

    January 4, 2020 in New Zealand ⋅ ☁️ 16 °C

    I then took a lunch break at Lake Benmore, I didn’t feel for doing one of the walks, still to much pain in the legs from yesterday and no motivation.

    I also stopped at a place with Maori drawings, but unfortunately, most of them were removed to a museum or destroyed by some idiots. So there was not so much left to see.

    Next Stopp on my list was the Elephant Rocks. Why they are called Elephant Rocks I couldn’t figure out but it’s a nice place for a stop and I anyway planned to spend the night in this area.

    The last stop for today was at the Anatini Fossil Side.
    Also here I could see some nice rocks and smaller caves but the special thing here is, that they found some bones from an ancient whale here!
    So that was really nice to see and the information on the sign was really helpful as well!

    After that, I went to the Campground in the Danseys Pass. Really nice place, in a valley. I got a side directly beside the river. So beautiful and in a way peaceful, but there are a lot of families here and in front of my campsite is the river swing, the big favorite of all children so they are around me all the time 🙈
    But I must say, they are behaving all really good and it’s not as annoying as I was expecting it to be!
    I will try to go to sleep early today, I am really tired. Hopefully, this night is not getting as freezing as last night, my hope is not too high as I was watching everyone fixing hot-water bottles 😬
    Read more