Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 36

    Moeraki Boulders

    January 5, 2020 in New Zealand ⋅ ☁️ 18 °C

    The last stop for today was at the famous Moeraki Boulders!

    What a beautiful place this is!
    I stopped here fast around lunchtime but as it was high tide then you couldn’t see them so good so I went then to the campground instead.

    Now it was low tide. And also not so many people around anymore as around lunchtime! I like that!

    I took a nice walk around and looked at all the boulders.
    I was surprised to find out that the boulders are full of small crystals on the inside. As some of them have collapsed already you could see that the inside is full of small crystals, wow 🤩

    I was wondering a little bit in the beginning if they can really be a natural event.
    But they really are! They are inside the cliffs and as the ocean and wind are eroding the cliff more and more boulders are showing up!
    Really exciting!
    Read more