Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 51

    Ithilien Camp and Creagh Cottage

    January 20, 2020 in New Zealand ⋅ ⛅ 23 °C

    As I missed the sideroad on the way to Moke Lake I drove back a few kilometers on the Queenstown-Glenorchy Road to the Twelve Mile Delta, a Lord of the Ring film location.
    It's a little bit hard to see as the vegetation has bee growing a lot in the last couple of years, but it is where Frodo, Sam, and Gollum watch the battle between Faramir's Rangers of Gondor and the men (and Oliphaunts) of Harad. Sam and Gollum discuss coney cookery, after Gollum wants to eat the coney raw, Sam tells him: "There's only one way to cook coney".

    After that, I went to Arrow Junction, where I will stay for 3 nights. I had to pass through Queenstown and this city is totally crazy 😳
    I think it's overrun, but so far I was just passing through so it's hard to say. Will spend a day or more likely a half to explore the city on Wednesday.

    Leaving Queenstown felt good for now. It's only a 2 minutes drive from Queenstown to Arrow Junction.
    I was speechless when I arrived at ”my” little cottage for the next days.
    Last year I met a family and they were inviting me to stay at their place when I visit Queenstown. And as they own two cottages and one is empty for the next couple of days, they said I can stay here instead of sleeping in my car on their farm. 😍
    I can’t say how lucky I am! It is such a lovely place with an awesome view of the area around.
    And I was even more shocked when they refused to get paid for it! 😳
    I am allowed to stay here for free, I got even a bottle of their own vine, they have a vineyard as well, some treats and other stuff!

    They invited me for dinner on Wednesday as well!
    So I am going to really enjoy these days 😊
    Read more