Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 54

    Kawarau River and Roaring Meg

    January 23, 2020 in New Zealand ⋅ ⛅ 22 °C

    Today it is, unfortunately, time for me to leave my little lovely cottage behind and keep on traveling.
    I cleaned the whole cottage before I left as I don't want them to have any work with that! They got really happy about it 😉
    It was the least I could do!

    Today I will travel towards Wanaka along the Gibbston Valley and Kawarau River.
    I stopped at to nice place with a nice view of the river.

    Then I went to Cromwell, bought some fruits as this region is a real fruit region!
    A lot of small boxes and shops along the road with fresh fruits! Nice!
    I also took a walk around Cromwell, but it was getting really hot around lunchtime so I was not feeling for more.
    I then decided that I can already go to Wanaka and find a campground, hopefully, close to Lake Wanaka.
    I was lucky, the first one, right beside the lake had still spaces free, so I will stay here for three nights as well. 😊

    The heat was really exhausting, it's 31 degrees and I was not feeling for more moving around at all.
    I was thinking about going to swim, as my spot is right beside the lake, but the water is pretty cold. At least for me, everyone else seems to not care about it 🙈😬

    It was a calm and relaxed afternoon. I planned to go to bed early, as I want to get up in the middle of the night to hike up a hill for the sunrise 🙈😂
    Yes, I know I am crazy 😜🤣
    Read more