Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 5

    Road from Queenstown to Cradle Mountain

    March 2, 2023 in Australia ⋅ ☁️ 14 °C

    I slept better than expected.
    Woke up around 7:30 am. But spent some more time on bed. To lazy to get up jet.
    Must have been raining all night long. And it's still raining. Changing between a light rain and heavy rain all the time. Lovely...
    Got up and had breakfast and went then around 9:30am into town to the supermarket to buy some stuff I forgot to buy in Hobart. After that I went so a marketplace where I bought a hopefully warm blanket and even a hot waterbottle.
    Tonight it's camping time, no matter what. So I better be prepared. The lady there told me that she have sold many blankets the last couple of days to travellers at it has become quite chilly since last week's heat.
    After that I left Queenstown and it was raining and raining. So I will skip Montezuma Falls as I am not feeling for walking in the rain for 2-3 hours and I heard that the track is even on good days quite muddy. So no thank you! More or lass straight way to Cradle Mountain National Park! The weather can just be the same or better, worst ist impossible.
    I did some small stops at Lake Plimsoll, Lake Rosebery and the Mackintosh Dam. That was nice to in-between leave the car for a few minutes.
    Read more