Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 5

    Dove Lake - Cradle Mountain

    March 2, 2023 in Australia

    I arrived at the Cradle Mountain Visitor Center around 12:30 pm. I packed my back anf fixed some wraps for lunch and then went inside to get some information about the walks and to get a ticket for the bus. And i couldn't believe it, suddenly the sky cleared up and the sun was coming out! Perfect timing!!
    You can not drive into the National Park on your own, you have to hope on one of the busses that is leaving every 10-25 minutes at each of the 4 stopps.
    I decided to dive to Dive Lake first. That is the last stop.
    As we just left Ronny Creek, one stop before Five Lake, the bus driver said: oh there is a Wombat already awake. It's cold enough today to be up so early already . I wanted off the buss now, but that was not possible. So i was hoping he'll be there when I come back.
    Was thinking about doing the Dove Lake walk, around 2 hours around the lake, but unfortunately a section of the track is closed at the moment so I did just the short walk to the boat shed.
    Could even see Cradle Mountain with out any clouds around him! What a beautiful place, I am so in love with this place already.
    I went back to the buss station and jumped on the next buss.
    Next stopp Ronny Creek.
    Read more