Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 5

    Ronny Creek - Wombat Parade

    March 2, 2023 in Australia ⋅ ☁️ 15 °C

    As I got off the buss at Ronny Creek I scanned the hill for the Wombat. But he/she wasn't there anymore. Started talking to a couple from Australia on the way and as we came around one corner, there was a Wombat! 😍 Quite far away from the track but I got so happy, I couldn't believe it. He then said after a minute or so, well there is not just one Wombat, there are actually three of them. Look more to the right and you see a mummy with her baby. That was such an amazing moment. I was almost crying, it was really touching me to see them.
    Then we heard from people walking back to the buss station, that there is one mor just around the next corner, right beside the track.
    I am in heaven.
    Found even one more, closed to a bridge.
    Had number four walk right beside me over the track. Saw nr five on the way back to the buss station. One more closed to him, but I think that was nr one. 😉 So I will not count that one.
    And then one more right beside the track closed to the buss stopp. Big smiles everywhere.
    7 Wombat around 2pm in the middle of the day within 30 minutes. How amazing is that!
    After that I went to the Ranger Station stopp, had some lunch. Totally forgot about eating with all the Wombats around.
    Here I want to go for some shorter walks.
    Read more