Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 5

    Devils at Cradle

    March 2, 2023 in Australia ⋅ ☁️ 12 °C

    Was there 5:20pm and got to take a look around the sanctuary for some minutes on my own.
    The tour started just in time.
    We got a lot of information about the Tasmanian Devil and the sickness that has killed 80% of them.
    To much to repeat here.
    They also have some Eastern Quoll, the small ones without with spots on the tail, they are on the red list already and really need more protection.
    The Spotted Tail Quoll, much bigger with white spots on the tail, are also in danger. So the sanctuary does a lot to keep these 3 Spezies native to Australia.
    So glad I did this tour. But I was very tired. The tour finished at 6:40 pm. I went to my car so I can get straight away to the campground. As i am in my way to start the car, I saw a Wallaby. So I got out of the car for a picture and then I saw the Wombat. Wallaby and Wombat at the same time. Amazing! Wombat Nr 10 for today 😉
    Then I went to the Campground just 15 minutes away from the Park.
    Well it's not a real campground. There are just to Dixie's and that's it.
    As i was very tired I had a sandwich for lunch, set up my tent and wanted to lay down as I started to talk to the German couple closed to my tent. Ending up talking beside a nice fire until 10:15 pm. It got really cold in the evening so I was wrapping up like a burrito and hoping to stay warm. 🥶
    Read more