Satelit
Tunjukkan pada peta
  • Hari 7

    Eddystone Point Lighthouse

    4 Mac 2023, Australia ⋅ ☁️ 19 °C

    After a calm morning and a good breakfast I left the campground around 10 am. Got to the supermarket first to stock up an then started driving towards the east coast.
    My plan was to drive to Eddystone Point Lighthouse and the following the coastline to St. Helens.
    I stopped in Gladstone to fuel up and was shocked that outside of Gladstone the road turned into a gravel road 😳 Already now? Ist still 40km left to the lighthouse. I was not expecting this. But I kept on driving, slowly. Took me a while but I arrived at the carpark shortly past 1pm. Pretty exhausted as it takes a lot of concentration to drive on gravel roads. The first one was a "good" gravel road but for the last 15 km i had to drive on a horrible gravel road. Nightmare.
    But I made it! And it was so worth it! It was so amazing! Unfortunately it's pretty cloudy already as we are expecting a thunderstorm during the evening/night but anyway it is an amazing place. I walked up to the lighthouse and from there followed a small path down to the rocks an a small beach.after that I even walked to a beautiful beach on the other side of the car park. Around 1:45pm I decided to leave again. Long gravel road drive in front of me. I guess it will be like this almost all the way to St. Helens. I also decided to not stop at one of the other two stops. The clouds are getting darker and I am not feeling for drive even more on the gravel roads. Took me over one hour to come to St. Helens. From the 56 km to my campground only the last 15km was on a normal road.
    I decided to drive straight to the campground to check-in to my cabin, have lunch and maybe go then for another trip to some sights, if the weather is still fine and I am feeling for it.
    Baca lagi