Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 8

    Columba Falls

    March 5, 2023 in Australia ⋅ ☁️ 22 °C

    The night was terrifying. 😳
    The rain started already in the evening before I went to bed, but I woke up around 1 o'clock to a heavy thunderstorm. I was awake a few more times during the night, 4 o'clock was also really bad. And around 8 am it was raining so much, just unbelievable. Thanks God I have the cabin!!!
    I took it easy this morning, the rain stopped around 9-9:30am. Around that time i was getting up and started to fix breakfast. As it was still very cloudy I wanted to wait and see what is happening now with the weather. Around 10:30 am it was clearing up more and more so I decided to get ready and drive to the Columba Falls, a 45 min drive from here and a recommendation from the reception stuff yesterday.
    The drive was nice and easy, so the road was going a lot up and down, left and right. Just like the roads in New Zealand.
    I arrived at the carpark at 11:45 and walks the short track to the falls. They are so huge! They have a drip of 90 meters!
    As it was many people around I didn't spend much time there. Obviously everyone wanted to do something on a sunday. And the weather got just really good. Nice warm with 26 degrees, but very humid due to the rain last night. But I don't want to complain, it's finally warm!
    Read more