Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 13

    Bye bye Tassie

    March 10, 2023 in Australia ⋅ ☁️ 18 °C

    After a night with to less sleep thanks to the people around me, I got up around 6:45am to have breakfast and pack the rest of my stuff and see what equipment i bought here I can push into my bag as well.

    Didn't got so much with me unfortunately, but i really wanted to take the warm and cosy blanket with me, as it's a good blanket and it was expensive too. So I left the tent, airbed and the other stuff behind. Maybe someone will be happy about it. I left he campground around 8:30am, went to a fuel station to fuel up and after that drove to the airport. I checked the car one more time, but seems like I got it all with me. Awesome.
    So I went to drop off the keys and after that I went to drop off my bag and after that straight to the security check. So I have some time left to relax and of course also this flight is a few minutes delayed. Nothing new to me.
    The flight was going fast again so wie arrived in Melbourne around 12:10pm.

    Unfortunately we had to wait quite long for our bags. Again.. so it was almost 2 pm until I picked up my new friend for the next three weeks. The red lady! 😉

    I was spending almost an hour, still in the carpark at the airport, trying to find a campground on Philip Island, that has still a spot free. Unfortunately I didn't know, that it's a long weekend here and everything ist booked out since weeks or even months. So I gave up in the end, changed my plans and was booking a campground in Rockbank. Other side of Melbourne. just away from the all the others.
    Next nightmare, leaving Melbourne in this horrible traffic.
    And an other number nightmare, trying to find a tent, camping gas cooker, airbed, pump...
    Impossible! Especially the tent and camping gas cooker. Kmart hast nothing, nothing at all in all stores around Melbourne. I was really getting stressed, didn't know what to do, where to go. And then I found the "Big W" !!
    A store similar to Kmart and they have everything! Finally!
    God I was totally finished after trying to find equipment for over two hours. All that was left now was to buy some food and after that I went straight to the campground.
    Noticing that I bought the wrong airpump I had to blow up my airbed by myself. What a day...
    After a hot shower and some dinner, (I didn't had lunch) and some good talks with some french people I went to bed around 9:30pm.

    What a day...
    Read more