Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 12

    Alonnah Sheepwash Bay Track

    March 9, 2023 in Australia ⋅ ☁️ 15 °C

    As I was a little bit confused about where the Alonnah Sheepwash Bay Track is starting. I stopped the car outside a public toilet and tried to figure it out. As I looked out of the left window I sa an Echidna walking out from a bush and over the grass. So I grabbed my phone and got out of the car as some motorcycles where passing on the many road. As I come around my car, the Echidna s gone. And I was just like: Oh no nat again.
    But then I saw it coming out of the bush again. Walking some steps towards me and then deciding to walk over the gravel road to the high green grass on the other side. How amazing to see this. So fantastic. What a cute little fella.
    I then just followed the gravel road for a few hundred meters to the carpark and the start of the track.
    It was a lovely easy walk. Just what I was looking after.
    At a picnic area I had a short lunch break and then went back to the car as the clouds are getting darker again.
    So I went to the harbour and had just to wait a couple of minutes for the ferry to arrive. And then I was already back on the mainland again.
    From here I went to Dodges Ferry where I will spent my last night in Tassie. So sad to leave this beautiful part of Australia but looking forward for some warmer weather. 😅
    The small campkitchen was really busy in the evening but i managed to squeeze in and cook dinner. Many people from France and Italy are here so it's a loud mix of all different languages. A little bit to much for me as tired as I am.

    Went to bed early as I have to get up in time tomorrow.
    Didn't work out so well, as some people closed to my tent had a long night. And they haven been pretty loud too. Smashing the doors from the cars all the time talking and laughing loud, listening to music. And I am not over sensitive no, I used earplugs and could still here and even understand them!
    Around 3 o'clock they finally went to sleep too.
    I got up like 6:30 am and I can say, I was also smashing the doors from my car. Normally I don't to it, but this time I was feeling for it!
    Read more