Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 28

    Seal Bay - Kangaroo Island

    March 25, 2023 in Australia

    I woke up aroun nd 7 am as the Galahs that ate around here seems to have a party in the trees around my tent.. 🙄
    So I got up, tried a few times to unlock my car.. 😬 It was working in the end. So I got up to have breakfast. Talked to a couple that I already met yesterday. And told them about how bad my evening turned out. I wanted to call a garage on Kangaroo Island and ask them if they can help me with the key.
    The couple said I should call the hire company first and asked them what I should do. Good Idea, so directly after breakfast I called Avis.
    They wanted me to call Roadside Assistanc, so I did that and they could send some out to the campground straight away, so I will make it to the ferry in time! Awesome!
    So I got ready, packed down everything and went to the entrance to meet them there. He arrived at 9:13am, me already nervous as I have to be at the ferry at 9:30am.. He was like, it's the key? Not sure if I can help you.
    Well he had to Google how to open that stupid key and he managed to open it a d had even a new battery and everything is working as it should! Woho!
    I didn't have to pay anything, even better and I was off to the ferry at 9:25am. Just on time as it's a 5 minutes drive to the ferry.
    The ride over to Kangaroo Island takes 45 minutes and was a bit rough, but okay.
    Went to the I-Side to pick up some information. The lady over there was really helpful, so I now have a pretty good plan for the next days here.
    First stopp, Seal Bay!
    And how lucky I am, the sun is coming out and that makes everything so beautiful. Much better weather then it's supposed to be.
    Well I don't think I have to mention the wind? Horrible, as usual.. But at least the sun is shining.
    I did the Broadwalk, recommendation from the I-side lady, as you get closer to the sea Lions like this. There is also a guided tour on the beach, but you have to stay 10 m away from the sea Lions.
    I had two right under the Broadwalk, not even 2 m away from me!
    Such a cool place!
    Chilling seals, playful seals, hungry young once. They adults are 2-3 days out on the ocean before they return back to rest or feed their little once.
    Met a lovely couple from England and we had a nice conversation.
    Back at the car it was time for a short lunch break. Just a short one, still much on my to do list and traveling here is different and takes more time.
    Read more