Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 3

    Jokulsarlon ~ Part Two

    November 14, 2016 in Iceland ⋅ 🌙 25 °C

    Across from the lake is Jokulsarlon Beach. I didn’t think there could be anything more beautiful than the glacier lake we just experienced. I was definitely wrong!

    Words can’t describe this place. They call it “Diamond Beach” because of the large chunks of ice shimmering against the black sand beach. It really did look like hundreds of diamonds scattered along the beach.

    There were also huge chunks of ice being thrown around in the ocean surf. These things had to weigh hundreds of pounds. Dave thought it would be a brilliant idea to climb on top of one of them. He got on it just as a wave crashed into it. He survived and surprisingly didn’t get that wet.

    I could have spent all day on this beach, but unfortunately time wasn’t on my side. The sun was setting and a 4 hour drive back to Reykjavik awaited us. We prepared a quick backpacking meal in the parking lot before heading back to the hotel.

    If I ever make it back to Iceland, this will be at the top of my list of places to visit.
    Read more