Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 5

    Finally here!

    January 13, 2017 in Argentina ⋅ ⛅ 26 °C

    So I finally, at 10pm, I arrived at the hostel. The plane journey was classically long and boring but I did conduct my first ever 'Spanish chit chat' which started well ('where are you going', 'where are you from') but ended badly ('look at the moon'- not something I learnt before arriving oddly enough). Proud moment for me though!

    I had another stab at a conversation in the taxi from the airport.

    Driver: 'It is very hot in Buenos Aires'
    Me: 'Yes, it is more hot in English, err, England'
    'It is very cold in England'
    'Also take. I mean raining'

    At which point fair enough we stopped our conversation about the weather. Probably won't be writing any Spanish novels anytime soon.

    Turned up at the hostel after the very nice taxi driver (who pointed out every church en route and made a cross over his chest at each) made sure I was actually heading to the right door. When I got in a BBQ style dinner, or 'asado', hosted by the hostel owner was going on with about 15 people and I was plonked down at the table with a plate of ribs and tumbler of red wine before even seeing my bed.

    The four girls sat around me were all travelling solo. Woo solidarity!

    The evening continued with lots of chat, political discussion (interesting speaking to Americans about Trump and Sarah studies political science at university), the discovery of someone from Leeds, and swapping stories about travels so far. The host is great and we tried 'blood sausage' (morcilla) which was described as blood, in a sausage case. It was runny. Yummy. At one point Jared from California asked if there was an open bottle of wine at our end which was met with 'I'll meet you halfway with four unopened bottles' by one of the people who works here.

    A great welcome to the hostel!
    Read more