Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 30

    Lazy days and penguins

    February 7, 2017 in Chile ⋅ ⛅ 10 °C

    So I spent the whole of Monday having an official...
    LAZY DAY

    It was excellent. I stayed in PJs until 12, video called people, ate and watched Netflix, only venturing out to buy the food and once for about 5 minutes to look at the crazy beautiful colours of the clouds and sky.

    When I first got back to Kiooshtem after the trek someone was hovering around behind me at reception, I turned around and it was Brian, a Swiss guy who I first met in Rayuela hostel in BA! Such random coincidence, was really nice to see him again.

    After the lazy day and a yummy hostel breakfast during which an Israeli guy told Brian and I a dramatic story about his heart being broken by a girl he had met on the plane two weeks prior, with a grave warning to Brian never to fall for Israeli girls because they are beautiful but evil inside, I said goodbye and headed off to Punta Arenas.

    Punta Arenas has very little to do but was basically where I would be getting a plane out of Patagonia, and to fill the time I paid lots of money to go and see some penguins, and went to a terrible museum with stuffed animals and hundreds of unexplained knicknacks. The penguin island was cool as there are a ridiculous number there, the island is called Magallen island and the penguins are magallenic penguins (of course). The moment when the ferry ramp fell down to reveal about 500 penguins was pretty cool and made me temporarily into an excitable child. The ferry there, however, was loooong and boring. I ate a whole packet of biscuits and the sugar buzz was so dramatic that I didn't fall asleep that night until 2:30am. I met a French guy who was working as a Patissiere in Puerto Natales to get some more travel funds, despite no experience (he's an engineer); perhaps the fact he is French and thus assumed to be a patisserie expert landed him the job?! I wonder what I would be hired for. Possibly weather woman.

    I realised I've lost lots of my clothes in all my hostel shuffling. Sad.

    Now another day of travel to less expensive areas I hope. Off to Isla de grande Chiloe today.

    1,2- penguins
    3- stuffed fox
    4- Empanada behind the bus terminal in Puerto Montt waiting for my bus to Chiloe
    Read more