Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 19

    El Acebuchal "The Lost Village" - day 4

    June 26, 2023 in Spain ⋅ ☀️ 25 °C

    An even warmer day forecasted!

    Some fantastic twisty roads and a bit of a dirty track into El Acebuchal. The low quality road likely limits the number of visitors. We enjoyed our morning coffee here after a quick walk around.

    https://www.andaluciamia.com/en/tours/the-lost-…

    An afternoon swim in the Los Bermejales reservoir to cool down, as it was up to 37C!

    After a quick sandwich (not so delicious 😕) we saddled up the toasty bikes. The pavement was quite rough and I though it was surprising how much I could feel it in my handlebars! A few km later the pavement improved, but I still noticed sloppy cornering. Then I realized, 💡I might have a bike issue! Thankfully we were passing through a town so I honked my horn to get everyone's attention, signaled and pulled over in the shade.

    My front tire was flat! Graham used his can of flat repair to inflate the tire with goop. The valve stem was damaged so it was leaking out of it and not allowing the goop to seal very well.

    Graham swapped bikes to ride mine. I got to enjoy a Kawasaki Versys 650. It only had 5000km, and rode like a fun toy! The afternoon was getting late and we were toasty, so we took the direct root back home. It was a fair bit of motorway, but none of us minded considering the questionable bike. We stopped once and added more goop before getting back to the guesthouse.

    It was a fantastic to end of the tour safe and sound. We enjoyed a final dinner in town at a different cafe as the one we were at most of the week was closed on Mondays.
    Read more