Satellit
Auf Karte anzeigen
  • Tag 14

    Los Arcos ! Our longest walk yet!

    19. Mai in Spanien ⋅ ☁️ 17 °C

    Yall these walks are stacking up and we feeling it!

    We left Villatuerta and headed to Estella for cafe con leche. Oops!!! It’s Sunday!! Most places closed. It’s interesting when business close on Sunday and mid day throughout the week. We see no one . Not a soul walking around . Ghost town.

    We did end up finding a coffee and then realized we might have a problem, no food to fuel us on our walk.

    As we left Estella we found a tiny food stall and I bought a tomato, tangerine, chocolate croissant and an Aquiriaus (Spanish Powerade).

    We walked with Kathy (Atlanta) and Fred (Netherlands). We helped each other navigate the arrows and stay on track.

    As we were walking I could myself getting weak. I could feel the tomato burn off and banana. I got concerned about my strength and then I saw in a town of closed businesses ONE that was open and they had a tortilla espanol. That did it! That food got me set for the day.

    We walked and walked and saw beautiful scenery. I haven’t tired of it.

    Pain and pleasure.

    My knees and hamstrings were screaming. I was barely taking a Six inch steps. I seriously considered taking a nap on a rock during the misty cool moring under the trees. I walked for about 5 hours and eventually caught up with Amy, Fred and Kathy at a cafe.

    We found a Roman aqueduct or pool or something that was gravity fed by the mountains. The water was cold. So I got in in it to chill my legs down and feet.

    After that Fred said let’s go and do this.

    We walked and walked through vineyards and mountains. I was delirious. Literally!🤣. I think I fell asleep twice walking. 😳

    I even at one point started running! My body just took off running for a few seconds a few times.

    It was a weird fun tiresome day.

    We arrived in Los Arcos totally spent and we realized we could not walk through town because they were doing running of the bulls (toros).

    Check Any Gaster Facebook page and find penguins posts for fun videos .

    We also released we booked our hotel at an out of town truck stop! Oops and yikes! It was another 45 minute walk!!

    It was funny for a lot of reasons and I was happy to have a warm bed and not share the room with 10 other people.

    For dinner I accidentally ordered the wrong meal. I meant to order the goat cheese salad and instead ordered cod and eels salad. Amy, Kathy and I had a good laugh at my blunder. I ate it! Sand gum hit sea worms on a salad!! 🤣. I also had pork ribs french fries and bell pepper. It was sketch for sure and I ate it anyways. I was fine! Yay!🙌. Yum!!!!!

    Oh and we found the wine fountain that pours out of the wall at the Monastery leaving Estella. Rose’
    Weiterlesen