Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 34

    Back in Buenos Aires

    December 22, 2022 in Argentina ⋅ ⛅ 32 °C

    After taking a break and spending important time with my family I’m back with some updates. After El Calafate my sister and I got back to the place where my journey first started - Buenos Aires. Our flight was delayed and bumpy, which apparently happens a lot due to the strong winds. Luckily we arrived safely and were ready to pick up my mom from the airport. At least this is was I thought! Little did I know that my sneaky brother, who was supposed to spend Christmas back in Germany was on a plane to Buenos Aires too. My sister planned the whole surprise. And wow I was surprised! I was so overwhelmed with joy, emotions just everything that I could hardly react and froze for a second. Couldn’t ask for a better Christmas having all my loved ones at one place.

    But there were even more surprises. My sister planned the whole day in Buenos Aires for us and organized an amazing biking tour through the city where we could learn so much about the people and history of Buenos Aires. And the best thing was that I did not have to use my feet that much. Haha After hiking 100 km in Chile and Argentina that was a much needed relief. My knees to this day still hurt a little bit but with more rest I hope they will be fine in the end.
    After our bike ride we went to the Plaza de Mayo which is famous for the Madres de Plaza de Mayo. All the mothers whos children were kidnapped during the military dictatorship demonstrate there every thursday and wear „scarfs“ over their heads to remind them of there lost babies. It is basically a human rights association with the goal to find their lost children.
    We then had a quick stop at one of the well known cafes called Tortoni, went to the amazing botanical garden and and ended the day with something you definitely have to do at least once when you are in Buenos Aires! Watch a real tango show! Loved to spend this day with my mom, my sister and my brother.
    Read more