Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 32

    El Calafate - last stop in Patagonia

    December 20, 2022 in Argentina ⋅ ⛅ 18 °C

    The last stop in Patagonia was back in El Calafate. I was there for one day before I started my hiking journey with my sister in El Chaltén. It is a nice town but not a lot of things to do. It is however famous because from there you can book tours to see the Perito Moreno Glacier! We booked a minitrekking tour which included seeing the glacier, a boat tour, ice cave and even trekking on the glacier with spikes! The weather was amazing and we had three hours on the glacier! Definitely a once in a lifetime experience, especially because I was not able to check this off my bucket list in Antarctica due to the bad weather conditions. Seeing the glacier and doing the trekking with my sister will for sure be one of the memories I will never forget. As we are sitting at the airport right now on the way to our last destination Buenos Aires before Christmas, I’m so grateful for my first month of traveling. For all the people I met in Ushuaia, Antartica, Punta Arenas, Puerto Natales, Torres del Peine, El Chaltén and El Calafate. For all the paths that crossed more than once and for all the wonderful experiences. My backpack is so heavy because of all the amazing memories! Can‘t wait for the last part of the trip for this year and then spend 4 weeks in Uruguay! :)Read more