Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 181

    Dallas Cowboy feeling

    May 18, 2023 in the United States ⋅ ☀️ 30 °C

    Couldn’t imagine a better place to start my United States trip than spending time with my amazing friend April in Dallas! So I traveled from Valladolid to Cancun and then flew directly to Dallas! April and I met 6 months ago where my journey started in Antarctica sharing many wonderful memories on the ship together (also seasickness unfortunately :D) and connecting through our love for penguins! As time passed we stayed in contact and it seemed so natural when we decided that I would visit her over a long weekend in Texas. Actually April was the one that told me she would save the dates right away in her calendar which made me book my flights too! And I really appreciated some girls time. We did so many fun things kicking off the weekend just right with a magic mike show that we did not plan before but turned out to be one of the most fun nights! The next day we went to a rodeo which is apparently a must do thing in Texas! We also had some Texas barbecue including deep fried pickles (weird at first but very tasty after) before the rodeo and then enjoyed the cowboy show which was apparently also the championship of rodeo - such a coincidence!
    The next day we walked around Dallas which is actually a very nice city! I was also impressed on how clean the city is and how much green spaces there are! One additional highlight for was the Aboretum. Unfortunately April had to work that day so I had to explore this huge botanical garden on my own but I really loved the landscaping and all the blooming flowers. For me as I have never been to Texas before and hearing all the stories about guns I must say I still felt really safe there and did not see one gun the whole time I was there.. luckily I must say.. to be honest i felt way more unsafe in Brazil.
    Also I‘m so grateful April hosted me the whole time, she is truly an amazing woman and I‘m impressed by all the strength she has! Also it filled me with so much joy that Penny and Pingu were finally able to meet for the first time.. we were talking about this all the time during our trip to Antarctica! Overall I‘m so happy and amazed how a 10 day trip and a connection over penguins can result in such a great friendship! Hope to see April in Germany one day - or anywhere else in the states once I come back :)
    Read more