Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 186

    San Francisco

    May 23, 2023 in the United States ⋅ ☀️ 17 °C

    After being on a high after Dallas i thought it would be so difficult for any other place to continue with this feeling.. but oh boy did San Francisco and the Bay Area not disappoint! The main reason why I wanted to go there was to visit my good friend Dominic which I met randomly at a food stand 5 years ago in Prague. I was in Prague over a long weekend to spend some time with a friend from Canada and he was traveling for one month around Europe. After Prague we stayed in contact and always wanted to see each other again - haha I actually thought he would come sooner back to Germany than I would fly to the States.. but the pandemic postpones many of his and my plans and so we didn’t see each other for 5 years and basically became great Skype friends :)
    As I didn’t want to go to Hawaii on my own after SF I asked Robert my friend from university if he wants to come too! That was back in January.. and coincidently we have been friends for 5 years too! So Robert and I met in SF and spend a week there. As I arrived a little earlier than Robert I was able to check into the hostel beforehand which had an amazing view over the Golden Gate Bridge! It was sunny but sooo windy and way colder than expected coming from Dallas, however I still enjoyed the view just by myself for more than an hour.
    Almost frozen to death I then picked up Robert from the bus station. That evening we drove with Dominic over the Golden Gate Bridge, had in-n-out for dinner (can you tell how excited I was? :D) and spend some time „hiking“ to an amazing view over the Bay Area (great insider spot).
    The next day was fully packed with touristy things. First thing in the morning Robert and I took the trolley downtown, walked crazy steep roads, went to the biggest and most authentic Chinatown for lunch, saw the pained ladies, went to fisherman’s Warft and also did the night tour around Alcatraz. Dominic also made time to join us on that tour! Overall San Francisco was amazing and it did not stop from there. Dominic was all along an amazing tour guide and was able to give us a wonderful glimpse of how life could be in SF especially he showed us many places „off the beaten track“ which I loved.
    Read more