Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 189

    Yosemite National Park

    May 26, 2023 in the United States ⋅ ☁️ 9 °C

    After spending 3 days in SF it was actually Dominic’s idea to travel to Yosemite National park over Memorial Day weekend since most people have time off and he and his friends wanted to go Rock climbing there. We therefore headed that night to his grandparents cabin which is located about 2 hours from the park! The next day we got up early and spend most of the day in Yosemite! And wow this National park did not disappoint! I was a little critical at first since I have been to so many countries already, saw amazing landscapes and also so many waterfalls.. but the waterfalls in Yosemite were outstanding! This year the park is especially beautiful because it was cold for a long time and the snow just melted.. making the waterfalls even bigger but also flooding the park.. so we were also lucky to be able to go there since the park is often closed due to the flooding. I have never experienced so much water in my life and when Dominic, Robert and I did the hike to the Vernal falls we truly experienced how much power the water has.. we also got soaked.. but it was an amazing experience!
    That night we also met some of Dominic’s friends which joined us for the weekend at the cabin. The next day we went all together to a huge and impressive cave and then drove to see the giant redwood trees. It was such a fun day! Oh and not to forget I almost beat the champion Dominic in Minigolf :D
    Since he and his friends all do rock climbing they all brought the gear with them so that Robert and I were also able to get out of our comfort zone and try rock climbing ourselves. It was soooo much fun and so rewarding! Loved it!
    I will for sure treasure this time we spend in Yosemite since it reminded me so much of the many USA road-trips we did with my parents many years ago. Dominic did an amazing job of showing us all the highlights the park has to offer and even though it was sometimes a lot for Robert and myself (we were pretty tired once we landed on Maui) I’m so happy that this trip brought back many memories of my dad and the many trips we experienced together! So thankful for all the thoughts and effort Dominic put into planing this and making our trip amazing on top of driving the whole way there and back! I can’t wait to go back one day, beat him at Minigolf :D or rock climb again. So happy we stayed in contact over these past 5 years and hope we will see each other again sooner and don’t have to wait another 5 years :D
    Read more