Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 217

    Dunedin - even more penguins 🐧

    June 23, 2023 in New Zealand ⋅ ☁️ 11 °C

    On the hunt for the little blue penguins - the smallest penguin species in the world I left Oamaru 2 days later and travelled further south to Dunedin which is the second largest city on the South Island. A guy I met in my hostel in Oamaru also wanted to go to Dunedin so he offered to give me a lift which was nice. It was great company and for once I didn’t have to take the bus. We also stopped on the way at the famous Boulders (must do on the drive to Dunedin) and had some crawfish at a little café which was actually really good and the best lobster I have ever tasted. We then walked around Dunedin a little bit and I had to stock up on some winter clothing since it got colder and colder traveling further south.
    The next day I started early in the morning and took the bus to Tunnel beach. It was a perfect day with lots of sunshine, making this hike around the coast even more picturesque! That evening me and my friend went to the Albatross Center in Dunedin since I booked a penguin tour to see the little blue penguins. And wow this encounter did not disappoint. I did not only learn something about Albatrosses and penguins but also a lot about Māori history! Loved the whole experience and would always come back! The highlight however was that we saw the little blue penguins waddeling from the ocean back to the beach to rest for the night. They were sooo cute and this was definitely one of the highlights of my trip!
    Read more