Satellite
Afficher sur la carte
  • Jour 220

    Queenstown - the adventure capital of NZ

    26 juin 2023, Nouvelle-Zélande ⋅ ☁️ 8 °C

    Initially I wanted to go to Steward island to see some Kiwis (the flight less birds and symbol of New Zealand) in the wild but it seemed so difficult to get there and also pretty expensive so I decided to change my plans last minute and go to Queenstown which is the adventure capital of New Zealand. You can do whatever your adventurous heart desires here: bungee jumping, skydiving, paragliding, heliskiing or helihiking, skiing, snowboarding.. just lots of extreme sports. Did I do anything of this? Not this time.. I think I had a lot of angels along the way and I didn’t want to use them all. Also I talked to a bunch of people and they all said that they had ear problems after skydiving or bungee jumping because of the pressure and I think it’s the best decision after my ear problem on San andres to give my ears time to fully recover. Especially because I will be flying a lot again to get home! On the bright side i also saved my mom from suffering a heart attack 🤣
    And even though I did not do something extreme I still very much enjoyed Queenstown. On one day I planned a tour to the Fjordlands of Milford Sound which was really spectacular! But let me tell you how lucky I was. So I had that trip booked the day after I arrived in Queenstown. Again being way to social I of course met some people on my first night in Queenstown, had some beers with them and then stayed up late - so I missed my bus the next morning… the tour to Milford Sounds was one of the most expensive tours I booked so far 🤦🏼‍♀️ totally my fault and soo stupid. So I called the company, asked if there would be another possibility to get there the same day and they said I will probably miss the boat and everything on the way because it is all timed… so I asked them if I could do the tour the next day and sure enough I got the last spot on the following day! Sooo lucky! And I was even more lucky because turns out that the weather had been bad the last 5 days before and on the day I actually went to Milford sound we had beautiful sunshine and I even made a new friend from Australia on the bus! We just had a wonderful time and the Fjord was amazing with lots of beautiful waterfalls, landscapes, animals and sunshine ☀️.
    The next day I followed a recommendation and went to the Kiwi park in Queenstown to finally see some Kiwis. The park itself was really nice, I also saw some other birds, did a free honey tasting (since new Zealand is known for its Manuka honey which has alot of anti-inflammatory properties) and joined a bird show. Unfortunately we weren’t able to take pictures of the kiwis because they blind from the flash or light. However I saw a kiwi at the bird show :D that’s the best I could do!
    En savoir plus