Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 227

    Taking the Tranzalpine train

    July 3, 2023 in New Zealand ⋅ ⛅ 4 °C

    The tranzalpine train from Greymouth to Christchurch is the most scenic train ride in New Zealand. I booked this train because my mom suggested it and wow did I not regret this decision. Not only did Jen (the girl I met at my hostel) and I have a great overall time on the train the ride to Christchurch was just so picturesque. Going through the mountains and crossing Arthur‘s pass was truly incredible. I think the pictures I took and the video of the train winding itself through the mountains speak for themselves. The train ride was overall 4,5 hours and it was definitely different to take a train for once and compare it to the trains in Germany. And since a train ride is usually long and boring Jen and I decided to treat ourselves to come cheese and sparkling wine. The amount of people looking at us like we were crazy was just so funny! Will never forget this amazing train ride and the great company :)
    Also we spoke at the train station back in Greymouth with an older lady and she gifted us two necklaces which was sooo incredibly sweet. She said she always has these gifts with her and when she meets inspiring people she just give them a necklace. Love this and still have the necklace as a lucky charm which me :)
    Read more