Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 226

    Brewing Beer in Greymouth

    July 2, 2023 in New Zealand ⋅ 🌬 9 °C

    Last stop on the west coast of the South Island was Greymouth. I actually just stopped here to take the TranzAlpine train back to Christchurch since this train ride is supposed to be one of the nicest train rides in the world! What most people don’t know about Greymouth it also a nice city to go on a beer brewing tour. They have great craft beer for instance ginger and honey beer (since New Zealand is also know for its honey), IPA and hazy beers. Honestly they are all pretty good but I really liked the IPA. The tour was very informative and even though they closed the beer brewing part in 2020 due to the pandemic it is still a museum and you can do a beer tasting there. We were even able to pour our own beer - look at that great video. I know I know in Germany the foam is usually more haha but in New Zealand they said it is supposed to be about a finger thick.. I think I did a pretty good job for the first time :D Since I only had one night and a morning in Greymouth that was pretty much everything I did and just walked around the area around my hostel which was also nice. But i met a very nice girl from Philadelphia in my hostel and we took the train together to Christchurch on the next day :)Read more