Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 188

    Quilotoa Loop Part Uno

    February 22, 2023 in Ecuador

    After our Baños adventure, the Mingelle/Zadie/Mateo/Kyla/Talia posse headed back to Quito in a van, and I hopped out in the small city of Latacunga. My friend, Emily, and her partner, Brad, met me there for a five day adventure that we planned about 12 hours in advance.

    Our goal was to do a three-day hike from Sigchos to Quilotoa, but we soon realized that “hike” was a strong word for what Em and I were capable of doing. We quickly determined that Emily and I would do shorter day hikes at each location and then hop in taxis/trucks to meet up with Brad as he hiked from town to town.

    Despite wimping out of the through-hike, we saw some amazing scenery and, because of the altitude, we felt like we hiked a million miles. The inns along the way were adorable and the scenery was awesome. I highly recommend this route to anyone in better shape than me! The towns are Latacunga, Sigchos, Isinlivi, Chugchilan and Quilotoa.

    These photos are from our time to and around Isinlivi, where we stayed at a sweet place called LluLlu Llama.
    Read more