Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 8

    Painting Class- Day 4

    May 18, 2023 in Italy ⋅ ☁️ 72 °F

    The sun was shining (finally!) and after a not-so-great day yesterday I was more optimistic. Watercolor is so much harder than oils or pastels… and my drawing skills clearly need work (in the church yesterday I wanted to retreat to abstract painting). I woke early and took a stab at my painting from Pfanner.

    I think the other students felt the same way as there was a lot more positive energy when we met at our arranged spot. (With the exception of one woman who is very upset about the lack of structure and personal feedback…as this is/was my first class like this, I didn’t come with any expectations.)

    Today’s topic was landscapes, my favorite.
    Two great demonstrations on the Lucca city wall and I have pages of notes! I can’t wait to try to apply what I’ve learned. For example, on the topic of clouds, which I love to paint, he recommends that they are either the center of attention or very subtle so the rest of the painting can be the focus. I have several paintings that would definitely benefit from this small edit.)

    In the afternoon I asked for feedback (and triage) on my arches from Pfanner. It is not there yet …but I’m learning a lot.
    We skipped the Puccini concert and opted for a quiet dinner at de Nona Clara. We shared fried artichokes and both opted for non-pasta dishes—delicious! And now we are definitely going to have to go on diets when we get back home.
    Read more