Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 44

    Itinerary Change #14 … Details

    January 24, 2023 in Mexico ⋅ ☀️ 82 °F

    OK, so I already wrote about losing Peru. At the time, I didn’t have all the details, so here’s the official post.

    The itinerary remains as is through Manta, Ecuador on 29 January. Then we have an overnight in Guayaquil, Ecuador. This is the new-to-us port that I alluded to in the “Lost Peru” footprint I posted yesterday. We have two full days there, so Mui and I will have to figure out some sightseeing plans.

    This is followed by a day at sea on 1 February.

    Then comes Callao on 2 February. But wait. Isn’t Callao the port for Lima? And isn’t it in Peru? Yes, to both of those questions. But this will be a shortened visit … what is called a technical call to refuel and pick up provisions. It will be a sea-day-on-the-ship for us … hopefully with the benefit of a cell signal from a T-Mobile partner so we can get some computer work done.

    We lost Peru, but gained some additional time in Ecuador. A win-win for Mui and me since we spent an extended time in Peru in 2009. I do feel sorry, however, for those passengers for whom this would have been a first time visit to Peru.
    Read more