Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 25

    Sunrise/Sunset All-In-One

    December 15, 2019 in Norway ⋅ ☁️ 2 °C

    I've never been a sunrise person. My family can testify. I like my sleep and much prefer the more sociable timing of a sunset. But winter in Bodø means that you can see sunrise (11:15) without the need for an early wakeup and you get a free sunset thrown in just an hour or so later (12:30)!

    But before you decide you could never deal with such daily darkness, let me reassure you. There is twilight-y lightness from about 10am until 3pm (like further south). Then sunrise/set is when the sun makes a proper appearance, like a headliner at a music festival, and you must get outside and make the most of every moment! I could never tire of the pink Arctic skies. And watching the sunrise/set from across the Saltfjorden to Bodø's south, I appreciated that Norway really is "powered by nature".

    After a final long evening in Bodø (3-9pm 😆) I am now laying comfortably in my VY Sove (sleeping) cabin, on a night train to Trondheim. Let the descent begin!
    Read more