Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 10

    Mt Takao

    July 15, 2023 in Japan ⋅ ☁️ 29 °C

    This morning I said goodbye to the rest of the family as they're heading back home today. I'm still travelling for a little while longer!

    Today I went on a day trip to Mt Takao, just over 1hr from Tokyo. Once at the mountain, I took the cable car up most of the way then walked about 1hr further up to the summit. I saw some temples, shrines, lots of butterflies and many many stairs. The was a gorgeous view from the summit and I could even see Mt Fuji!! On my way back down I tried some rice dumplings, they were delicious, and caught the chairlifts, which were quite steep and had no safety bar!

    I hopped on the train back into Tokyo and did some zig-zagging between stations to pick up my luggage from a locker and make my way to my new accommodation in Asakusa. It's close to Tokyo Tower!
    Read more