Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 11

    Sensō-ji Temple, Kyoto and Arashiyama

    July 16, 2023 in Japan ⋅ ☀️ 34 °C

    This morning I had a quick visit to Sensō-ji Temple. This temple is the oldest in Tokyo and one of the most colourful. It was super busy and already super hot (31 degrees at 8.30am)!! I also took all my luggage, my big backpack, with me as it was right next to the train station.

    I then hopped on a bullet train to Kyoto! It took about 3 hrs, I was just resting most of the trip. Once at Kyoto, I struggled to find a place to put my luggage, but when I eventually did I jumped on another train to Arashiyama.

    First in Arashiyama I visited the Otagi Nenbutsu-ji Temple. This temple has 1200 Rakan statues with all different expressions. It looked amazing. This temple was about a 40 min walk from the station, so it was pretty quiet and peaceful. I had my favourite ice block on the way too!

    Next I walked to Arayshiyama Bamboo Groves. These have a handful of pathways that wind you through a forest full of bamboo. This part was packed with people!!!

    Afterwards I made my way back into central Kyoto found my guest house accommodation (after some difficulty) and went out for a quick dinner.
    Read more