Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 7

    All Aboard! Rocky Mountaineer

    May 5, 2023 in Canada ⋅ 🌧 12 °C

    An unwelcome 0500 wake-up and rainy start to the day as we bid adieu to Vancouver.

    Hotel checkout, a half kilometre walk in the rain to meet the coach. The sensational weather this week replaced with a Melbourne winter's day. Mum in wheelchair (she can't self propel) 5 (large!) pieces of luggage to tow between Dad and I. Over uneven footpaths and puddles. As always, we make it work.

    Scheduled coach transfer, not a viable option. Multiple stairs and no lift - not wheel chair friendly. A taxi ride instead to meet the train. I'm reminded of how often you need to adjust plans when travelling with disabilities.

    There is absolutely not enough coffee in the world to deal with this start. The american percolated. Why? Please, allow me introduce you to the espresso! These fleeting woes, however, are soon replaced with immense gratitude.

    I scan the passengers awaiting to board this 22 carriage beauty, and note I am an outlier as a middle-aged female.

    The average age of the group is 60 plus. Then there are those older, those needing more assistance. Oxygen cylinders and 4 wheel walkers. I get a little emotional as I realise how special this trip is for so many on board. They've dreamed of this for years! For some, like Mum, it was just in time as her health continues to decline.

    I get to experience this! I get to travel the Rocky Mountaineer, first class viewing carriage and all the luxury inclusions. I get to see this breathtaking part of the world. But mostly? Mostly I get to help make sure my parents put a big tick next to this on their bucket list.

    And I'd travel in a Hessian sack for that.

    ~ Melissa
    Read more