Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 26

    Graceland: A hunk of burning love

    May 24, 2023 in the United States ⋅ ☀️ 28 °C

    Memphis Y'all. Welcome Ma'am. We arrive just shy of 1am at the Guest House: Graceland. This is a destination Jan has been obsessed with since her teen years. Jan met Allan in 1969, and she has since shared with me the main attraction to him was his name and Elvis resemblance. Allan / Al / Elvis. Allan's dark and sultry looks as a 15 year old lad had the most beautiful Jan convinced at 14, she had found her very own king.

    54 years later - Allan has certainly lived up to that title.

    Visiting Graceland for Jan; in her own words:

    "Visiting Graceland has been something I've wanted to do my whole life. I love his music, the way he entertained people - his appearance. A very handsome man. I admired his ability to keep on going despite all the obstacles he faced in life. When I listen to his music I feel really happy. Some of his songs make me feel sad, but I really love it anyway. Always on my mind was my favourite song.

    I am really happy I got to see Graceland and see where he lived. To walk (wheel) on the same grounds he stood. It was very emotional seeing his grave; his mother's and grandsons grave. It was a lifelong dream to get to Graceland and Melissa and Allan have helped me realise this. Memories I'll treasure forever."

    Graceland is an interesting place - filled to the brim with history of Elvis' life. Link below to Graceland website if you'd like to explore in more detail.

    https://www.graceland.com/
    Read more