Satelliitti
Näytä kartalla
  • Päivä 29

    #itsnotstayinginvegas

    27. toukokuuta 2023, Yhdysvallat ⋅ ☀️ 32 °C

    Vegas. Night one. The decline of health for both Mum and Dad has been swift. A brewing UTI takes hold for Jan. A variant of SARS / MERS / Covid / Ebola tightens its grip on Allan.

    I find a new friend in Cali. Hispanic, early 40's, divorced, just arrived in Vegas for her daughters soccer tournament. It doesn't take me much convincing and we are soon out dancing at a Latina bar to music I don't understand the lyrics of, though the beat and rhythm is universal.

    A lost room access pass sees a security guard become my accomplice as I stealthily sneak in after 4am to collect ID and prove I am, indeed, Melissa; and to please quietly let me in so my parents don't know how late I returned. #yesIamanadult.

    A brutal wake up minutes after 9am with a statement from Dad. Melissa - your mother and I need to see a doctor.

    A whirlwind morning of coordinating medical intervention abroad. Paramedic assessment. Nursing assessment. Travel insurance coordination and eventually; by 1300 same day, an admission to urgent care in Vegas for both Mum and Dad.

    Dad: Bronchitis. 02 sats stable though hovering around 95%. His constant cough on par with carrying a loaded weapon. Mum. UTI, aetiology unknown though a simple UTI can become serious quickly for Mum with renal tumours and has in recent times required hospitalisation for IV antibiotic treatment.

    1630 discharge, CXR, urinalysis and prescriptions (unfilled) complete. A $7k plus bill for Allan and 2 hours on foot in the Vegas heat for me in search of the desperately needed medication to prevent further deterioration.

    We have tickets this same night for David Copperfield ~ an event in hindsight we should have forgone.

    Vegas is too much when you're well and full of energy. I myself arrived in Vegas having completed course of antibiotics on ship for a kidney infection and days prior, had been knocked unconscious, falling about a metre over a metal ramp ~ whilst assisting Mum out of a disabled taxi. #soberfall.

    Mum is already weak and frail. Dad is worn out. I am exhausted and my body weary from the ongoing lifts and transfers - getting harder as Mum's strength wanes. Needed for toileting. Showering. Bed. Transport. Into huge American cars. It's harder on Dad - nearing 70 with titanium hips and cardiac challenges. Plus Bronxhitis.

    Shirlene, a concierge at The Paris, Hilton, Vegas is the redemption. Her kindness will not be forgotten. She collected us all from the Vegas footpath in 30 plus degree heat en route to the hospital; in her personal (immaculate) car and delivered us to the hospital doors. She recognised me after supporting a paramedic assessment earlier that day. We were worn out.

    What looks like a 10 minute walk in Vegas can be 5 times that as the Vegas Strip is a criss cross labrynth of over pass pedestrian bridges.

    Vegas. We are looking forward to seeing you in our rear view mirror.
    Lue lisää