Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 2

    Things to love about air travel

    November 4, 2023 in the Netherlands ⋅ 🌧 10 °C

    Norway. Was almost No way as my flight from Abu-Dhabi to Amsterdam was over sold. And I was the lucky allocated passenger in a sold seat. My chosen window seat. Next to an older couple, husband chronically unwell. He'd upgraded to purchase an additional seat. He'd bought my seat! Yet I held the boarding pass with my seat number printed. He did not. He needed the seat. I was calm and measured. The solution. Simple. I'll just sit in business class! All worked out, though the ensuing argument (them and flight crew. I just sipped tea and watched on ;) resulted in 30 odd minute delay to the flight. Time I didn't have to make my 3rd and last flight. Connecting Amsterdam to Bergen. Norway. Fortunately. I. Can. Now. Run. And run I did. Through Amsterdam airport. After 36 hours of real-time travel. I'm spent. I'm teary. I don't know if it's day or night and I want to eat. Sleep. And go for a run. All at once.

    Things to love about air travel:
    - The food. It's actually good even when it's bad
    - The parents doing their best to soothe their bubbas. There's something pretty sweet about watching a father sing to his baby
    - The people you meet. Like Donnall. The unassuming 65 year old who averages 10km a day running. A lifelong runner. Placed 3rd in the Abu-Dhabi marathon a fortnight ago. Proud Dad. Grandfather. Trucker. And fitness fanatic. Visits his son in Geelong regularly. He showed me pictures of his grand kids. Bless.

    Things I did. NOT. Like. At all.
    - The gentleman who blocked the toilet and skulked away without a word on hour 12 of first 14 hour flight. I over explained it wasn't me to the air hostess whilst gagging as I exited quickly for air. 6 flushes it took mate. You need more fibre.
    - Abu-Dhabi airport. The toilets. The bidets. They're used to shower I'm sure. They need to consort with Japanese designers.
    - Abu-Dhabi prices. My coffee pictured. A double espresso. I ordered it iced. It came as a macchiato. It was delicious. But. Also. $20 Australian dollars.

    This post was drafted and uploaded before the lost luggage saga. Stay tuned 😉
    Read more