Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 30

    Siracusa, Sicily. I see you Mt Etna

    December 2, 2023 in Italy ⋅ ☁️ 21 °C

    Buongiorno from Sicilia. With Egypt in the rear view mirror, possibly (definitely) my middle finger/s raised, both hands, we cross the Mediterranean over 36ish hours to arrive in Italy once again. For me, anyhow. Siracusa, Sicily.

    Picture this...Sicily. 2023. I am, of course, referencing Sophia from The Golden Girls. I don't need to picture it, Ma. I'm here. Our arrival coincides with the eruption of Mt Etna, just under 100km away. I really do know how to bring the action.

    I chose a tour to match my energy levels today, a serene boat cruise of Ortiga Bay. I even find my perfect mode to enjoy this stunning afternoon. A hammock. I request service of wine and peeled grapes as the hammock gently rocks on the harbour, though not a one obeys my commands. I must work on my leadership style. Authoritive / dictatorial was needed for today.

    With the smog from the erupting Mount Etna filling the sky, I'm in awe of the power (and fury) of mother nature.

    The harbour cruise concludes, and I find a quaint waterfront cafe and order the gelati I've waited so long to enjoy. In Italy. I select three scoops. Traditional limone (🍋), a melon (canteloupe), and a black cherry ice cream 🍒). It is as superb as the weather. I can taste a cantaloupe so perfectly ripe. I remember how good a good canteloupe can be. My heart is as full as my tummy.

    The last few days have been tough. My visit to Egypt saw me in a really vulnerable position, and I was afraid. I'm newly accustomed to facing the fear, being brave, and doing it anyway. It's the mode that's gotten me through this incredibly difficult year. What has seen me travelling the world solo, though, always after a healthy risk assessment. In Egypt, I saw some of the worst traits in human nature. Greed. Exploitation. Contempt. Utter filth. I questioned myself and my ability to assess risk. I'll never return to Egypt.

    But Italy. Graci. For your incredible beauty. Your people, brimming with kindness. Humility. Pride. A zest for life and food filled with a Nonna's love. My faith in human nature rekindled. My soul filled with gratitude once more.

    A 6km ish run to conclude the day with a fancy Italian dinner. I dine alone with low expectations a cruise ship fancy Italian restaurant can deliver the Italian goods. The food is good, though home cooked Aussie Mum good and the lasagne is luke warm. (#mineisbetter). I look forward to more dining experiences in Italy over the remaining 5 days of my trip.

    Graci Italia. Graci.
    Onwards to Pompeii.
    Read more