Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 6

    Day 4

    February 7, 2019 in India ⋅ 🌫 17 °C

    Today was such a busy day!! this morning I woke up early so I could have the best breakfast but we got taken down to pray downstairs and it took 35 minutes, I had to rush my breakfast in the end lol! The priest threw water on us and gave us a bindi! I first went to the slums and went to the children’s assembly where they sung and danced for us! The female doctor then took me with her to the medical slum clinic and today there were more women than yesterday. I gave out 4 vitamin D shots and cleaned wounds again, it was so interesting! We even saw an infected C-section wound from 3 years ago that the doctor assessed and explained what the course of action would be. I was then asked by the same teacher as yesterday to teach a second part to my decimal lesson in the tiny classroom. It was actually amazing, at the start they couldn’t understand how to order decimals in ascending and descending order and by the end they could do it, I even had to set them homework and promise the teacher I would come back tomorrow after the slum clinic to help again! We then came back for some needed lunch and half way through eating Vishy ran in saying there is a surgery if anyone wants to go. Me and one other girl were like we’ll go so we got in Vishy’s car and drove to a different slum hospital. We watched a lady hAve a hysterectomy where her uterus got removed. The surgeon said there would be another C-section later on so we waited not knowing how long it would be. The lady was induced and unfortunately she needed a C-section so we were lucky we waited! We then watched the C-section and it was just as aamazing as last time. The lady did lose quite a lot of blood which was stressful but she was okay and the baby was a gorgeous healthy baby girl! It was amazing. We then came back and had samosas they were so yum! We had been told that there was a boys orphanage next door that we could go to any time so Hannah, Bri and Summer went next door and played UNO and did magic tricks with the boys, it was so fun! We are definitely gonna go back in the evenings!Read more