Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 7

    Last day on project before the weekend!

    February 8, 2019 in India ⋅ 🌙 12 °C

    Today I decided to go to the dispensary instead of the slum clinic and as I was the only one going I was in the tuk tuk on my own! Yesterday there was a hailstorm in the evening and so there was so much water on the roads! We drove about 10 minutes to a different slum than usual and ended up picking up the doctor on the way. She was so nice and her English was actually quite good! The place we drove into was absolutely covered in rubbish with water everywhere I couldn’t believe it and there were houses lining the edges. We walked about 5 minutes into the slums and came to a small room which was the dispensary. A huge array of patients came in from the local community and as the doctor had been doing this for 2 years she gave me full patient history’s so it was so interesting. She made me do so much, take names (which was hard guessing how to spell the Indian names haha), ages, blood pressure, blood glucose, administer vitamin shots, give out nebulisers to children and even clean out and dress 5 super infected wound - the one on the mans foot being the worst! After a super busy day of patients I headed back to the house and had some lunch. I then sorted out all my things and pack a weekend bag as we were heading on our golden triangle trip this afternoon! We then headed out to the slums next door to our house to play with the children for an hour before we left for our trip. We got in our taxi about 3 and had the 4.5 hour journey to Agra. After arriving at our hostel called the Moustache hostel haha, we planned our day trip for tomorrow. We then went for a super yummy dinner of pasta and chips - a welcomed break from curry for breakfast lunch and dinner!Read more