Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 53

    Seaford and seven sisters park

    June 13, 2023 in England ⋅ 🌙 19 °C

    Today I walked part of the English coast walk and saw the seven sisters. A very hot day today, so got a bit sun kissed and walked just on 14 kms. In the boiling no shade pathway! Silly but determined! I finally realized and so tied my shirt round my head and neck ...

    First I went to Seaford, a pretty wee village and was fascinated by the cliffs there and the long rows of beach huts. Walking along that promenade I was reminded of how Brighton would once have looked bright and cheerful, instead of all the building renos going on amongst the crumbling structures, graffiti and filthy streets, it is party central here, so one can imagine the mess of the streets first thing in the morning after the revellers are done!!

    Oh how I long to be back on the Camino in Spain!!

    I then chatted with a local whom I asked about the seven sisters (cliffs) and she suggested I get the bus and rejoin the coastal path at the seven sisters park. I took her advice and walked back into the wee villages of Seaford to catch a bus... It wasn't far, and soon I was on the coastal path again ..... It was further than I expected in scorching heat, but I was determined to get to the viewing point.

    As the grass verges and .mud flats gave way to a very Stony beach, the sisters came into view, but it was still a hike over the stones, sinking into gravel then sand until the water front reached and a great view of the sisters emerged.

    Fascinating coastal walk with so much history...I particularly liked the museum with the gun on top...built to keep Napoleon at bay across the chanel!!??! Sadly tho the museum was closed!!

    I retraced my steps back to Brighton and met a lovely man at witherspoons where I stopped for dinner...a vegan hamburger and zero alcohol beer to quench the thirst of the journey. I was about to leave when he, Mark, suggested he buy me another beer as he was enjoying our chat. It was beginning to cool down outside and a nice evening to chill. He invited me to come and see where he works for the National trust at "Attingham house" in Shropshire...a very interesting human being,..I'll see how I go, but the wind takes me so many places.

    Also my German friend, Christian, finished his Camino today and shared a photo of his Compostella, I am so delighted for him... When we met he was limping with sprained ankle and knee, but he made it!!! Well done Christian ...a train driver from Germany.
    Read more