Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 57

    Two family days in Barons Keep

    June 17, 2023 in England ⋅ ☁️ 17 °C

    I keep getting distracted and losing what I've written over the last couple of days, so I'm going to save this before I do anything else today!!

    On Friday I took the underground into Hammersmith to do a bit of shopping for our family day yesterday. I was joining oor Margaret and Colin's family to celebrate Colin and Rozalia's birthdays and father's day!!

    The underground is great in off peak times and a gentleman helped me off when the train got to Barons Court. I must have looked a right mess, back pack on front and back and two bags in each arm hehe!!

    I'm amazed at the selection of different grocery items here, sadly we don't get half the selection in NZ. I love the convenience of the underground as well.

    Yesterday, Saturday, saw Sarah and Lachy (20 months, my grand nephew) arrive first, so lovely to see them, and catch up once more, we were then preparing for our family lunch, salads, birthday cake, breads, cheeses, cold meats, drinks, the usual spread to make sure everyone's needs catered for.

    Jonathan, (oor Margaret and Colin's boy), wife Rozalia and Simon, (15 months) (their son, my grand nephew) arrived and received a very warm welcome from everyone and it was lovely to see the bairns interact.

    It just so happened that today was also the changing of the guard celebrating the kings birthday. We were watching on the TV as we partook of the repast, all talking at once and enjoying the chat while we ate. Lachie was enjoying mimicking the marching he was seeing as was wee Simon. They were very entertaining and had some lovely moments together. Then all of a sudden it was the fly past and the roar was very loud, so we all made a bee line to the balcony wondering which way the planes were flying in the hoe we might see them too.

    Unfortunately that was all we got, the loud roar of the planes, as they travelled overhead, obscured by cloud. After the opening of gifts for the birthday dad and Rozalia and father's day gifts, the children began to make plans for their homeward journeys. Many goodbyes, kisses and hugs, they were gone again.

    Margaret, Colin and I spent a lovely evening after the children had gone. Meg's got out a game and once we had worked it out, we played a couple of games, fascinated by the strategies needed to work out how to "win"...
    Read more