Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 69

    Baron's Keep to Frome

    June 29, 2023 in England ⋅ ☀️ 20 °C

    Well, the last few days have been very full. On Friday I took myself off to Ealing to visit with Jonathan, Rozalea and Simon and, as it happened their friend, Jon. We had a great time catching up about his school reports he was supposed to be doing but decided to have a day off and do the reports over the weekend. Clever lad!!

    Jonathan and Simon met me at the Tube Station and walked me home to their house so I wouldn't get lost. They live in a lovely tree lined street and in a gorgeous small apartment. Wee Simon was a treat to watch and play with, lovely to catch up with the adults too.

    On Saturday we went across to Streatham to help with the child care of Lachy, (Megs and I) and painting of the spare room (Sara and Colin). Owen was busy mitring corners for the kitchen and putting up a picture rail in the newly painted bedroom. It looks magnificent! Gave me an idea too. Very domesticated.

    Megs and I took Lachy out for a play in the park, I sat taking photos while Megs wore herself out running around and playing with Lachy. He is an amazingly articulate little boy of 20 months and is so surprising in the quality of his speech and sentence making! Helicopter and hippopotamus don't phase him at all.

    I decided Sunday was a day off for me and began to think about packing and organising for my trip to Frome as well as taking a trip into the huge Westfield mall in Shepherds Bush to buy a few clothing items. It was busy and very hot so not a pleasant experience, but great to know that.

    Tuesday, Simon and Lachy came to stay for the day so much fun was had. I took Simon for a walk while Lachy had a sleep so into Hammersmith we went. I was so proud of him as he remained calm and rested 98% of the time. Well done Simon!!

    Yesterday I packed up and after two tube station stops, eventually found my way with the help of a few people to the Waterloo station where I caught the train to Frome.

    Frome is a wee village like town in Somerset and am so enjoying it so far, I stopped at a woman's shop, art studio and home as she was out on the pavement. I asked her for direction as to where the post office, the library and the supermarket were.

    She just looked at me quizzically for a few seconds then said "shall i get the car and take you?" .... Without blinking an eye she then went back inside, ordering me to stay right there, and five minutes later stopped her car in front of me saying "hop in"! Without even giving it a minute's thought, off we went to the grocery store first while she waited and waited for me...pointed me in the direction of the post office, waited while I stood in a queue there, then, took me home to my place to drop off the groceries, then dropped me at the library!!

    How's that for small village England?? I was amazed, delighted and so very grateful, she has also invited me to tea at her house when I feel the need!! Amazing!! What a privilege to experience this act of kindness!

    There is so much going on here during the festival, I'll be lucky to see any of the rest of Somerset and the Cotswalds, but I'll do my best.
    I have landed in time for the "Frome Festival" which begins next week.... so much to see and do, Kerry told me not to miss the Christian church concert which of course I won't! Then i meet Megs n Colin in Bath in ten days time to tourist around there.

    I'm still trying to work out how to get to Stonehenge which isn't far from here, but little public transport. I have thoroughly enjoyed walking around Frome today.
    Read more