Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 63

    Friday in Ealing Broadway

    June 23, 2023 in England ⋅ ☁️ 19 °C

    Today my Camino was to tube to Ealing Broadway and visit with Jonathan and Rozalia.

    First things first write my journal! Then again at tube station they have finally cordoned off a left and right pathway so that one can actually get down to the platform through the throngs of people heading out to Tennis at Queens 👑 🎾 honestly it was a walking crowd!

    I had to change at Holburn then get the central line to Ealing Broadway! Phew.... How to do that?? Firstly a gentleman told me to take the lift down to platform 4! So, trustingly I went toward the lift following his outstretched arm and finger pointing the way.

    Down the lift I went and out at platforms 7 & 8, "well that can't be right", so off I went again back to the start point. "Ah", said he " it's the second lift!!" I had to walk further down to get to the next lift!! Down I went again and could not work out which platform from here. Asked another tube worker "oh you get on here at this platform but you'll have to change at Acton".

    "Well, ok" I mused, as I thanked him and wandered to the platform he pointed out. Once there, I didn't know which train to take so asked another worker. He had to get his phone out to check the timetable. I told him that someone else said I had to change at Acton. "One moment" he said, and I waited as he searched the timetable.

    "Yes", said he, take the train there on platform 7 it will take you all the way there. "What about Acton?" I asked concerned "No need to change, as I said this train will take you", I thanked him profusely for his reassurance and went toward the train, 5 feet to go and the train left the station!! He had to laugh and I just shrugged my shoulders to wait for the next one!.

    My grand nephew was on fine form and we enjoyed a wee bit of time together. He had been playing the piano at the station when I arrived, so sweet.
    Read more