Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 95

    Castle Rock hostel to Mayfield gdns

    July 25, 2023 in Scotland ⋅ ☁️ 14 °C

    After a "continental breakfast" at the hostel it was time to make my way to the b and b my host family had booked for me. My hosts had gotten the date of their holiday wrong, adding another day until I housesit for them.

    I had taken a night time photo out of my hostel window (uploaded yesterday) and a few on the way down the Royal mile.. looking forward to coming back into the city after settling into my house sit..

    Taking the bus from the high street, I arrived too early to check in to the accommodation, so walked down to a church just across the road. There was a beautifully kept garden and seat just waiting for me. No sooner sitting than a white haired woman wearing blue jeans and tops, handbag and shopping bags on arms came through the gates making her way across the grass to say a curious "hello" head on one side looking down at me. Her smile made me promptly respond with an "hello" right back to her.

    She portrayed a sense of purpose about coming into the church grounds and soon let me know she was there to prepare a food for a weekly service and lunch group. I responded to her by telling her about my travels.

    An invitation to join her inside the church to help with making sandwiches and joining the group for the service and lunch ensued. I gladly accepted. I met Flora, Julia, Susan, Christine and Ian the minister along with various other members of the congregation.

    The service was just great, the hymns old favourites, so a lovely meditative time in the presence of people who have known each other for a long time. Exchanging phone numbers, a few photos taken after lunch, invitations to call if I need anything, and I was off to check into my accommodation for the night.

    Another two floors with a circling staircase to navigate, I finally made it to my room. Again tired but happy to be resting for the afternoon now, quietly warmed by the new friends I had made.

    I noticed out of my window the stunning outline of Arthur's seat and took a few photos as the sun began to lower in the sky. It's not so visible here but the colours changing was amazing to see on that craggy big rock. Emails and maps seen to for tomorrow to navigate where I'm going I.e.. Liberton, south east Edinburgh, I fell asleep, knowing that's tomorrow's journey.
    Read more