Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 99

    Edinburgh museum

    July 29, 2023 in Scotland ⋅ ⛅ 18 °C

    After morning clean up and preparing veg for dinner, off I went to catch the bus into the botanical gardens. Unfortunately I asked the driver for the museum stop?? It must've been in my unconscious that I wanted to come here?

    I thought about it as I sat on the bus and thought och well I don't have to get off at that stop ..South Bridge...anyway as I sat, a lovely elderly woman, anxious on my behalf, caught my attention and said "you'll have tar get aff at this stop for the museum, ye'll have tar hurry," then the driver called me out as well...so off the bus I reluctantly got to find my way to the museum..

    It is a stunning underground cave like place and I stopped for a cuppa before further exploration....just taking in the ambiance ... I'm looking forward to exploring the history of Scotland section.

    I came across sections of the museum where James, Macayla and I had spent quite a few hours exploring, playing and having sandwiches...that I did that makes me laugh now, the children didn't complain, but it was easy to tell they wanted chips, pies, sweets from the cafe!!

    That was a few years ago now maybe 2010? The room decorated as in the 1800s, the area where people sit and try to pull their own body weight up, the rally on r racing car the children sat in... Just the size of the place is incredible and I almost couldn't believe that the skeleton of a deer, more than twice the height of an average human, was real. Apparently the skeleton was found on the Isle of Wight in the 1800s!

    It was amazing to see artefacts left of Charles Stuart the young pretender and to take in some of the history behind the "union" of England and Scotland, bought by bribes and gifts of titles and lands to a few people.

    The time was drawing close to the predicted rain so, all too soon, my legs were heading for my digs and a good horizontal stretch before a downpour. Another day tomorrow to be out and about exploring.
    Read more