Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 100

    National Galleries

    July 30, 2023 in Scotland ⋅ ☁️ 13 °C

    Rain, thunderstorms promised for tomorrow and Tuesday, today I'm heading for the National gallery, a walk down Leith water to Stockbridge market.

    Awoke this morning to a right downpour! We'll see , bus to Drumheugh shall see me at the market...to start with...

    As is said, "the best laid plans".... once I got to the market and everyone i asked said it was a flat walk, even google maps calls the walk flat. My knees know the difference and flat it was not, its all downhill and quite steep at times.

    The market was smaller than advertised, with not so many stalls. I'd gone to see if I could find some souvenirs to take home, but very little of such crats available. Just like markets of old in the rain, there was much mud, feet sinking in a times, others dancing around trying to avoid the mud with their white runners and long skirts. I spoke to a couple of lovely stall holders, one wanting to come to live in NZ and the other quite settled and a glass conservator. I bought some lovely vegan deserts for the week. Indulgent!!

    The market done, I made my way up to the Scottish National gallery on Princes Street. I am in awe of the older paintings, the masters, landscapes portraits of older times. So amazing in their execution and size!
    Thankful for my time in Edinburgh, glad to be heading to Glasgow soon, I made my way back again in the rain soaking in the atmosphere of a city waiting for its festival
    Read more