Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 102

    Preston Pans

    August 1, 2023 in Scotland ⋅ ☁️ 15 °C

    The Lothian Bus goes into Princes St all the way to the city before changing buses to get to Prestonpans. Little did I know the bus also went to Port Seton where, once upon a long time ago, we were to have a short holiday.

    I decided to stay on the bus to the end of the road at Port Seton just to see if there were any changes. Two hours later, I set foot at "Seton Sands" a "Butlins" like holiday camp.

    When we holidayed here, there was just lots of grass and a few caravans that I recall, but lots of grass. This is a very different place indeed. My word, it is unrecognisable!

    Full of cabins to buy, to rent, to rent to own provided with all the indoor facilities, swimming pools (heated), video games, pop machines., This to keep children occupied on rainy days, and let's face it there aren't many non rainy days here in Edinburgh, well at least this year. Huge restaurant, fish and chip shop, plenty of child friendly spaces, a long way from the caravan park of the 1950s!

    Overheard on the bus " I think oor summer was back in June eh?" I had to laugh. A heat wave was predicted and now it looks like that's gone by the by and it's looking like rain for the foreseeable future!
    Read more